Veterans Committee

Purpose/Mission Statement 
Shelburne Veterans Monument Committee shall provide oversight of the Veterans’ Memorial, completed in 2015, located on the Northeast corner of the Shelburne Parade Ground. Oversight includes ongoing financial support, ceremonial activities, ongoing maintenance and sight improvements, and the development of programs that recognize veterans such as scholarships, etc. The SVMC will coordinate activates with Town officials, committees, and commissions, that use or have responsibilities for The Parade Grounds. Funds raised by the SVMC will be used exclusively by the SVMC.

Committee Functions and Sub-Committees 
The SVMC will further the mission statement (above) with the support of up to three (3) sub-committees appointed by and responsible to the SVMC. 
  • 1. Ceremonial – Applying federal and state policies and practices common to Veterans’ Memorials. Foster dignity and respect sought for such a memorial during celebrations and visitations. Attend to all matters applicable to displaying the Flag. Oversee the installation and ceremony for new memorial bricks. 
  • 2. Maintenance – Work with Town staff to maintain the condition of the monument site such as cleanliness, repairs, expansion, signage, etc. Seek external expertise when needed. Participate in the installation of new bricks. 
  • 3. Outreach – Provide fundraising support to cover the costs of ongoing maintenance, expansion, etc. of the Memorial. Work with Town Officials and agencies on cooperative ventures such as holiday activities so not to duplicate activities. Continue to publicize and inform the public about the memorial.
Reporting Requirements 
The SVMC shall submit a written report each year for inclusion in the Annual Town Report; and will provide the Selectboard with a general update annually. The SVMC and associated sub-committees shall abide by all applicable accountabilities as public bodies. 

Veterans' Memorial Monument
Committee Members Terms Expire                          
Colleen Haag, Treasurer 04/01/2021
Sam Feitelberg, Chair 04/01/2021
Bud Ockert 04/01/2021
James Donaldson 04/01/2021
Paul Goodrich 04/01/2022
Pete Gadue 04/01/2021